G is for Goodwill

(My theme for the A-Z challenge is places, things and people around Chicago)

Okay, so Goodwill is not unique to Chicago, but I must devote a post to them because no matter where I’ve lived, I found stuff at Goodwill that was sorely needed. I know that some might think that buying something used is gross, but I believe in reusing. It’s not different than buying from a yard sale or flea market, and common sense tells you to clean/wash your stuff before using it. Of course I would not get shoes, socks etc. there–you get the drift.

Over the years, I have had to replace my whole wardrobe several times and Goodwill is a very inexpensive way to do so. Think they only have clothes that are ugly or out of style? Anyone who has ever seen me would not say that about my clothes, trust me. Other note-worthy finds included crystal bowls for Gracie’s cat food (no ordinary dishes for the princess) and a purple lava lamp.

17 thoughts on “G is for Goodwill

  1. In her first couple of years at Uni, my daughter shopped (and then volunteered) at a nearby Opportunity Shop. She now has the biggest wardrobe of very nice clothes! Many of the items she purchased still had the tags on them but she purchased them at HUGELY discounted prices.

    • I had a really super-cool wardrobe before moving here. Since they were Goodwill clothes, it was not that hard to part with it. Besides, now Tom has to take me to Goodwill regularly to get a new one šŸ™‚

  2. My friend is the QUEEN of Goodwill and the like. She finds the coolest things. Me? Nope. I just don’t have her eye. We’ve shopped at Goodwill lots though. My daughter really loves finding good,cheap formal wear that she then customizes. I love Goodwill~!

  3. Goodwill in Toronto sucks.
    I wanted to donate clothing and they didn’t want it. They said they had too much already.
    When I wanted to donate furniture (good furniture) they didn’t want that either.

Leave a Reply

