Zoos in Chicago

(My theme for the A-Z challenge is places, things and people around Chicago)

Chicago has five zoos, including two world-class zoos. Lincoln Park Zoo is located near the downtown lake front and the Brookfield Zoo is in Brookfield in the western suburbs. Both are open 365 days a year. Yes, even on Christmas. With one exception: A couple of weeks ago, the Brookfield Zoo was closed because of the severe flooding we had. And that was only the second time ever it had to close since its inception in 1934.

Lincoln Park Zoo has free admission. It was founded in 1868, making it one of the oldest zoos in the U.S. It has a working dairy farm where you can see cows being milked the old-fashioned way. In addition to over 1,200 animal species, it is home to a burr oak tree which dates back to 1830, three years older than the city of Chicago.

Brookfield Zoo has one of the largest primates enclosures in the world with many different varieties of, well, primates. It was one of the first in the USA to have pandas (a gift from China) on display. It also housed the first indoor dolphin exhibit. Brookfield Zoo is home to another interesting attraction: The Theodore Roosevelt Fountain, which spouts water as high as 60 feet.

14 thoughts on “Zoos in Chicago

  1. I wish I could remember which of those I’ve been to. I’m sure I’d remember the farm (I did a short stint milking cows in a 2 cow milking parlour for education) if it was Lincoln Park but would be surprised if we didn’t go to both. It was over 20 years ago that I went to Chicago and have wonderful memories of it including cocktails in the Aquarium.

  2. That is interesting.
    I read somewhere that FDA guidelines (or some other agency along those lines) stopped allowing milked-by-hand-milk to be sold because machines are cleaner than hands (or whatever foolish reason that does not explain how mankind survived for thousands of years without milking machines). Does the zoo let you try some straight-from-the-cow milk? I hear it’s very different than the store pasteurized version. I have also read arguments that suggest it may be healthier.

    Stopping by from your comment on the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge Z post on Facebook!
    @JLenniDorner

    • I grew up on cow’s milk, but I have a lot of health problems, so I am not sure it made a difference. I don’t know if you can drink it at the zoo … I will have to ask my better half about it, but I don’t think so as I guess the FDA would have a cow.

Leave a Reply

