Gardening in the Trailer Park: Part 2

front May 8 phase 2

As soon as the weather cooperated (on May 6), Tom built me 2 flower boxes for the front of the trailer where I added more sunflower seeds on May 7. I used flowers of different colors and different heights, so we’ll see.

front flower box May 7

Then we were going to start with annual plants for the rest of the lot, but then the uber gardener Glory Lennon sent us a bunch of seeds. So, Tom built me another flower box while the seeds were in transit.

Sweet Allysum

While in the process of putting the boxes in, a wonderful neighbor gave us some plants he had left over. After consulting with uber gardener Glory, we found out they were Sweet Allysums. Since we already had some soil tilled where the large flower box was placed and it was towards the end of the day, we just placed them randomly above the right corner of the box.

corner flower bed May 9 day 3

Ah, but I am not a random person. So, the next day I decided to turn that corner edge into a mini plot. By then the seeds had arrived, so I added some on top. What kind? I’ll tell you later, just in cast they do not sprout!

violet

That still left a hole on the left corner, so I transplanted some violets I found in the back of the lot.

May 8 perennials

The next day Tom tilled up some soil next to the neighbor’s trailer and we found it to be surprisingly rich and way less rocky than the soil we had worked with before. On that side I planted 5 different species of perennials in assorted heights, going from low to high as to not obscure the neighbor’s window–if they sprout. Yes, I am still doubting myself!

Side May 8

I know it does not look that great yet, but remember: This is my first time ever doing something like this. Well, I had a garden when I was around 10 or so, but in my book that does not count. However, trust me when I say that I did not take true “before” pics. It wasn’t pretty!

6 thoughts on “Gardening in the Trailer Park: Part 2

  1. Ooh, it looks wonderful already! You’ll see, my seeds will give you back that green thumb you had as a child. I guarantee it!

  2. I think it’s all going to look amazing. And I love that you keep acquiring plants in different ways. To me, that’s the very essence of gardening. A little bitt from here and there, all growing together into something beautiful!

  3. It’s coming along nicely, and I’m loving the chance to watch your progress. You’ll be thrilled with what you do, and this will get you hooked on gardening for life. I hope your violets and sweet Alyssum survive the night. Aren’t you under a freeze warning? My mom is.

  4. Pingback: Gardening in the Trailer Park: Part 3 | T and A Travel Almanac

Leave a Reply

