Gardening in the Trailer Park: Gains and Losses

garden full view june 8

You win some, you lose some. That is how it works with our developing garden too. Flower bed 3, the one in the front, has only 5 marigolds left when it had a least a dozen before, if not more. I don’t know if it’s because of the pounding rains from a couple of weeks ago or if some animal has taken a liking to them.

On the other hand, either Japanese iris or day lilies came up in the flood zone. What is the flood zone? The strip on the left. Every time it rains, it’s under water is why I call it the flood zone. We found out what the problem is … something we had not noticed before: The neighbor’s trailer has no gutter and the rain just splashes down into that very zone were we seeded perennials. Oops. Nothing to be done about it now.

How come I don’t know if it’s iris or lilies? Did I not mark what I seeded? Yes, I had marked where one ended and the other began, but the rain washed away those markers. I checked online and the sprouts for both look the same. I am just surprised how anything came up there at all. Now I am hoping they’ll survive the next storm.

Also, some of the sunflowers I transplanted are kind of on a respirator right now. I hope I will be able to put them into the “gain” column.

3 thoughts on “Gardening in the Trailer Park: Gains and Losses

  1. Tiny bit of difference in the daylily and Iris leaves, but they may be too small yet for you to see it. The Iris leaves stand up a bit stiffer and more straight up than the daylily whose leaves tend to arch gracefully. You may not get flowers this year–not very likely, really– but next year you will.

Leave a Reply

