I is for Ice Hockey

(My theme for the A-Z challenge is places, things and people around Chicago)

While Chicago has two major ice hockey teams, The Wolves (AHL) and The Blackhawks (NHL), I only just started following the Blackhawks. I am not totally new to hockey, however. I used to follow ice hockey in Germany in the 1980s. However, when I moved to America I ended up in Michigan and that would have meant following the Detroit Red Wings, I guess, but it never happened. Well, Tom likes the Blackhawks so I got sucked into following the sport again.

Points of interest: The Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup two years ago after decades of not doing so, and recently made the national news for having a historic 24-game point streak. So, that was interesting to follow. They also secured a spot in this year’s playoffs already. It’s not as interesting as Nascar to me, but it will do!

15 thoughts on “I is for Ice Hockey

  1. LA is still basking the the revelry of the Stanley Cup, but as a former San Francisco Bay Area girl, you gotta love the Sharks. 🙂

    Skate on…

    Regards,

    Christine London

    A-Z Challenge “I” is for Ice Cream (http://christinelondon.com/i-is-for-ice-cream )
    Christine’s Amazon Author Central Page: http://tinyurl.com/ccq2or8
    Tweet sweet with her: https://twitter.com/ChristineLondon
    Fan a FB Page of Christine-isms: http://tinyurl.com/bunvanf

  2. I really get into hockey when I watch it-become a super fan and all that-but this last strike thingy turned me off the whole sport. I can’t get over the fact that two groups of very rich people were bickering over money like jerks.

  3. Another European! I’m sorry to hear you were traumatized in the hospital at age 5, that sounds horrid! Thanks for coming over from Alex’s.
    I love hockey, but for us here it’s The Colorado Avalanche. I used to live near Washington, D.C and went to a LOT of Washington Capitals games. LOTS. But that’s in my Z for Zamboni post…

    Tina @ Life is Good
    Co-host, April 2013 A-Z Challenge Blog
    @TinaLifeisGood, #atozchallenge

    • D.C.? I used to live a couple hours away from there, in Richmond, VA. I moved there after Michigan. Am now in Chicago … so yes, I’ve moved around a lot. Thanks for stopping by, I know that co-hosting does not leave a lot of time.

Leave a Reply

