W is for Woodfield Mall

(My theme for the A-Z challenge is places, things and people around Chicago)

If you follow me regularly, you know that I used to live in an extended stay hotel in Richmond. In my 19 months there, I became somewhat friendly with the front desk staff … as long as I paid my bill on time and made no problems, of course.

When I told them I was moving to Chicago, one of the first words of advice were: “Make sure Tom takes you to the Woodfield Mall in Schaumburg.” It turns out that one of the front desk ladies had lived in the Chicago area before moving to Richmond. I did it the other way around and think I got the better end of the deal … despite the record-setting cold spring and flooding this year.

Anyway, I’ve never made it to the mall yet and since it’s one of the biggest in the country, it’s not looking good for me making it there. Believe it or not, I hate shopping, even when I was still able to walk better. Tom’s been there, of course.

However, since he shares my lack of enthusiasm for shopping (basically spending money we do not have on stuff we do not need while being mauled by rude people), one of those trips was not for shopping. No, it was to meet Yoko Ono at the Merrill Chase Galleries (he wrote that up for me a while ago if you want to read it). He also said that back in the mid 80s pop star Tiffany made the mall a stop on her tour. Pretty cool!

I do understand that many people love shopping and malls, so if that is your thing, you’ll probably be in mall heaven at the Woodfield Mall.

3 thoughts on “W is for Woodfield Mall

Leave a Reply

